Sunday, June 19, 2011

Event 16: Premature Exposation?

$2500 + $200 Championship NLH 

Mike Dentale and another player got to the river with a board of A T 6 3 J.

Mike was first to act and checked.  Apparently Mike thought his opponent checked behind (and others at his table also thought they saw a check) so Mike tabled his JT (two pair).

His opponent didn't do anything, seemed to protest that he didn't check, so Mike offered to let him bet.  The player was being very quiet and obviously didn't want to show his hand, but Mike made it obvious he was prepared to call a bet.

Once the player realized Mike's hand wasn't going to be declared dead for being revealed too soon, he mucked his hand.  Mike collected the pot.

Angle shot or not?  You decide.

FYI:  The rule regarding cards exposed prematurely NEVER kills the hand.  The hand is played out and after the hand is completed, either a warning (first infraction) or penalty (subsequent infractions) is imposed.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.